Earth Etchings (1) violin and orchestra; (2) piano trio

1 Bounty

2 Plea

3 Renewal

Mark Hartman, violin; Waterloo Chamber Players conducted by Ben Bolt-Martin

Earth Etchings for violin and chamber orchestra was written in 2014 for violinist Mark Hartman, who specializes in jazz and fiddling styles in addition to classical music. The work features fiddle passages within the framework of a violin concerto. The first movement, Bounty, celebrates everything the earth offers us. The introspective second movement, Plea, acknowledges the need for healing. The third movement, Renewal, expresses hope that we can rebuild the earth’s balance. The exuberant fiddling in the first and third movements draws on a style of music developed by North Americans living close to the earth. The work was premiered in 2014 in Waterloo, Ontario, by Mark Hartman with the Waterloo Chamber Players, conducted by Ben Bolt-Martin.

Instrumentation: 2222 2200 strings + timp.

Duration ca. 14:00