Views through a Window

1 Suzy Q

2 August Routine

3 Ice Box

4 The Story

Washington Musica Viva: Elizabeth Kluegel, soprano; Carl Banner, piano; Benjamin Redwine, clarinet; Jodi Beder, cello

Views Through a Window is setting of four poems by Beth Joselow for soprano with clarinet, cello, and piano. These poems depict various facets of women’s experience; the ideas for these poems grew out of things a woman might imagine while doing domestic chores. The cycle was written for Marilyn DeReggi and and the Interarts Ensemble, who premiered it at a Composers Portrait concert at Strathmore Hall, Rockville, MD in 1990. Its composition was supported by a grant from the D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities.

Duration:  11’